To: R-CALF USA Members, Affiliates and All

From: Bill Bullard, CEO

Date: April 21, 2022

Subject: Calls Needed to Resist Urge to Water Down Cattle Market Reforms


Background:  The U.S. Senate agriculture committee will hold a hearing on the Cattle Market Price Discovery and Transparency Act of 2022 (S.4030) Tuesday, April 26, 2022. U.S. cattle producers deserve nothing less than access to a fair, competitive market to sell their cattle.

Action: Please call the committee immediately at 202-224-2035.

Here is a suggested script:

“Hello, I am a cattle producer from (state). The upcoming Senate ag committee hearing, on Tuesday, regarding the Cattle Market Price Discovery and Transparency Act (S.4030) is very important to me and other producers in our state. Time is of the essence and I urge the committee to reject the entire section of S.4030 that purports to reform the cattle market and substitute it with the spot market protection bill (S.949) to require big packers to purchase at least 50% of their cattle from the competitive cash market. Thank you.”

Thank you for your calls!


If you want to do even more and your state’s Senator is listed below, please call their office phone number and relay your message again.


Senate ag committee members

Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)         202-224-4822

Ranking Member John Boozman (R-AR)      202-224-4843

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)                                     202-224-4242

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)                              202-224-2541

Sherrod Brown (D-OH)                                  202-224-2315

John Hoeven (R-ND)                                      202-224-2551

Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)                                202-224-3244

Joni Ernst (R-IA)                                            202-224-3254

Michael Bennet (D-CO)                                 202-224-5852

Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)                             202-224-5054

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)                             202-224-4451

Roger Marshall (R-KS)                                  202-224-4774

Tina Smith (D-MN)                                        202-224-5641

Tommy Tuberville (R-AL)                             202-224-4124

Richard Durbin (D-IL)                                   202-224-2152

Charles Grassley (R-IA)                                 202-224-3744

Cory Booker (D-NJ)                                       202-224-3224

John Thune (R-SD)                                         202-224-2321

Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM)                                  202-224-6621

Deb Fischer (R-NE)                                        202-224-6551

Raphael Warnock (D-GA)                              202-224-3643

Mike Braun (R-IN)                                         202-224-4814